Mayor Welcomes New Members Onto Combined Authority Cabinet

Tees Valley Combined Authority | Published on: 28th June 2019

Mayor Ben Houchen has today (June 28) officially convened the new Tees Valley Combined Authority Cabinet at the organisation’s Annual General meeting.

The recent local elections have seen changes in leadership across four of the five Local Authorities that make up the Combined Authority Cabinet. Ben Houchen remains Chairman of the Cabinet as the elected Tees Valley Mayor.

Darlington Borough Council’s Cllr Heather Scott OBE, Hartlepool’s Cllr Shane Moore, Middlesbrough Mayor Andy Preston and Redcar and Cleveland’s Cllr Mary Lanigan have all joined returning Stockton Borough Council leader Cllr Bob Cook on the Cabinet.

Members were also given their portfolios, with Cllr Scott being assigned responsibility for Transport, Cllr Moore leading on Culture as well as being Deputy Mayor, Mayor Preston holding the Business Growth portfolio, Cllr Lanigan responsible for Inward Investment and Cllr Cook leading on Education, Employment and Skills.

At the meeting, new appointments were also made to the Combined Authority’s statutory committees, Overview and Scrutiny, Audit and Governance, and Transport.

The next Cabinet meeting will take place on July 26, 2019.

Share this post

Stay up to date

Sign up below to enter our mailing list for the Tees Valley Newsletter

Follow Us

Join us on social media for the latest news